ARROWHEAD UNION HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING SEPTEMBER 09, 2020 MINUTES

The meeting was called to order by President Rosch at 7:00 p.m. in the District Office Board Room.

Everyone rose for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members present: Bob Rosch, Kent Rice, Sue Schultz, Craig Thompson, Darrell Beneker, Amy Hemmer, Tim Langer

Unable to Attend: Donna Beringer

Virtual Attendance: Dave Dean

Administration present: Laura Myrah, Jeff Gross, Adam Boldt, Sue Casetta, Gregg Wieczorek

The meeting was properly posted.

Moved by Hemmer seconded by Rice to approve the minutes of the August 19 2020, Regular Board meeting and August 19, 2020 Annual Meeting as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Hemmer, seconded by Schultz to approve the operating bill list and pay vouchers 820, 154949-155018, 155020-155052, 155054-155072, 155074-155095, 202000056-202000098 in the amount of \$1,526,993.73 and to approve credit card expenditure transactions as presented in the amount of \$132,505.50. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

COMMUNICATIONS AND COMMENTS FROM MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC - No comments were made.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT -

Ms. Laura Myrah, superintendent provided an update on the beginning of the school year and reported that students and staff appear to be engaged both in-person and virtually. She thanked the teaching staff for all of their extra efforts in creating a blended model of teaching for this semester. Ms. Myrah addressed questions from the board regarding the unprecedented return to school during the Covid-19 pandemic some included; the status of virtual learning and student compliance of safety measures. She was happy to report that virtual learners are receiving the same curriculum as in person students and that students have been following the safety guidelines while on the Arrowhead campus. Administration will continue to monitor the situation.

Ms. Myrah shared the Communications plan and timelines for the November 3^{rd} referendum. She commented that some of the communication pieces are already being seen by the public as she has received questions regarding the referendum.

Ms. Myrah reported that, in response to concerns from a group of advocating petitioners seeking new and improved social justice and anti-racism practices at Arrowhead High School (AHS), an audit of social justice-related curricula and co-curricular offerings has been completed. Sue Casetta, the Director of Learning shared the results of this audit. During the recent audit of curricula across each department related to cultural competence, equity, racial issue, equity/race-related history, and reasonable civic actions, administration was pleased to find high quality units and lessons already are occurring within each of Arrowhead's departments. AHS has had and continues to add co-curricular programs that focus on multiculturalism, inclusion, and equity-based topics. During the 2020-21 school year and upcoming years, the staff and student will:

- Develop and implement curricula where gaps are found within the recent audit.
- Provide professional development for staff members dedicated to social justice-related topics and practice.
- The Arrowhead Way Team will work to empower students to be anti-racist, which will include discussions and planning with staff and student-leaders to determine ways to develop and implement anti-racism behaviors and practices.

CURRICULUM – The next Curriculum Committee meeting is scheduled for September 24, 2020, at 6:45 a.m.

FINANCE & LEGISLATION – The next Finance & Legislation meeting is TBD.

BUILDINGS & GROUNDS – The next Buildings and Grounds Committee meeting is scheduled for October 7, 2020, at 7:00 a.m.

PERSONNEL - Ms. Myrah reported on the September 2, 2020 meeting.

The committee reviewed Human Resource topics during the Covid-10 pandemic including the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) as well as changes to the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA).

Moved by Rice, seconded by Langer to approve the following individuals to be recipients of the 2019/2020 Arrowhead Teacher(s) of the Year award, Kelly Hassler (North Campus), Cheryl Bondlender (South Campus). <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Rice, seconded by Schultz to approve the following individuals to be recipients of the 2020 Arrowhead Award: Chris Harriot, Andy Zuercher, Gregg Wieczorek, Linda Kempen, Ed Stapleton, Jeff Waters, Craig Thompson, Bob Rosch. Friend of Arrowhead Award: The Mullett Family, Tom Price (Price Engineering), Joe & Julie Reuteman and Zee Kapel (Mid-City Sports), The Nagy Family (Spancrete), Mike Kusch (Hartland Service, Inc.), Jim Lindenberg, Pat Noll. (Bob Rosch and Craig Thompson abstained from the vote.) <u>Motion Carried.</u>

The next Personnel Committee meeting date to be determined.

POLICY – The next Policy Committee meeting is scheduled for October 21, 2020 at 7:00 a.m.

WASB – Mr. Rosch stated that he will be part of a 4-person panel on September 10, 2020 discussing school safety and law enforcement in schools.

CESA - No report.

NEW BUSINESS:

Moved by Schultz, seconded by Thompson to approve the 2020/2021 new professional staff contract for Anastasia Luedtke (English Teacher), support staff contract for Danielle Catarozzoli (Student Services/Health Room Aide), Suzanne Koch (North Campus Welcome Center/Lunch Room Aide), Elizabeth Schuster (Lead Custodian); to approve the following 2020/2021 new cocurricular/activities letters of appointment: Steve Melzer (Esports Advisor), Emma Opperman (Boys Soccer), Kevin Lewandowski (Warhawk Interact Club Advisor). <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Rice, seconded by Langer to waive the failing grade minimum in the WIAA rules of eligibility and Arrowhead's Academic requirements for 2020 spring season athletes to participate in 2020 fall athletics. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS – Mr. Rosch and Ms. Myrah will be attending the Hartland Village Board Meeting on September 14th, 2020 to discuss the proposed connector road and potential annexation of Arrowhead's property.

Moved by Schultz, seconded by Hemmer to adjourn. Motion Carried.

The meeting adjourned at 8:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kate McGraw, Recording Secretary

Susan M. Schultz, Clerk